NMGS Awards & Prizes


Many Awards and Prizes have been established by the NMGS, which are funded by the corporate, main institutional and corporate members to reward and encourage excellence and distinction in academic and professional practices, inventions and services.
The Awards Committee of the NMGS is responsible for administering these Awards and Prizes. Consequently, the Committee hereby calls for nominations for the year 2015 which will be made at the 51st Annual International Conference in Lagos, in March, 2015.
All nominations must be sent, under confidential cover or by email to:
Prof. Aniekan Edet,
Chairman, NMGS Awards,
Department of Geology,
University of Calabar, Calabar.
E-mail: aniekanedet25@gmail.com, aniekanedet@yahoo.com
Tel: +234-803 6667 216,  +234-805 5248 322, to reach him not later than 15 December, 2014.


Nominations are hereby invited from members of the NMGS for candidates in respect of the NMGS Awards each nomination should be accompanied with a brief write-up preferably on-line on why the nominee is deserving of the Award, along with abridged Curriculum Vitae, discreetly obtained.
Nominations should be submitted under confidential cover to reach the Chairman, Awards Committee not later than 15 December, 2014.
The following criteria, as approved by Council at its 192nd meeting of Saturday 18th October 2008, held at the NMGS National Secretariat, Zawan, Jos, which will govern the final selection, should be noted:
1.    That no member of the Award Committee should nominate candidates for an Award.
2.    That Awards should be given only for outstanding achievements which should be so outstanding as to be non-controversial.
3.    That Awards should not be given in absentia except for very grave reasons of an emergency nature.
4.    That the recipient’s work and achievements should have had direct or indirect connection with the welfare of Nigeria, or Africa, or that the recipient should have made significant contributions to the development of NMGS or to the Mining and Geosciences profession generally.
5.    That great weight should be placed on the contribution of the recipient to research, scholarship, training and services and that the actual award made should be one that is professionally appropriate to the achievements of the recipients.
6.    That on each occasion that Awards are made, the list of Awards should, as far as possible, represent a balanced cross-section of spheres of National and/or International achievements.
7.    That nominators should not approach their nominees under any circumstances whatever until the nominations have been approved by Council for the Award.
8.    That normally nominees who have been considered on three occasions should not be considered again by the Committee for the same Award until the lapse of three years after the last occasion.
9.    That in exceptional circumstances, Awards may be given post-humously to deserving candidates.
10.    That only paid-up financial members would be considered for Awards.
11.    That late nominations will not be considered at the screening exercise.

The Award Committee appeals to all members of the NMGS to take cognizance of these Prizes and Awards and ensure they participate fully.
Prof (Sir) S.C. Teme, FNMGS    President, NMGS
Dr. Paul Ogunleye, MNMGS    General Secretary, NMGS
Prof. Aniekan Edet, MNMGS    Chairman, NMGS Awards Committee

  • Share this post
Previous Post Next Post